Members |  Forum Rules |  Search
  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Surface Temperature
scro1908
Posted: Jul 04, 2018 - 10:54 am

Lunker Trout

Group: Members
Member No.: 7035

I was on Pigeon last night bass fishing and did alright for a short 2 hours of fishing. We all need to be mindful of the temps not only for ourselves but the fish. The water temp last night was 87 degrees. Muskies especially. They cannot handle these soaring surface temps very well. A long fight in this degree of water can have a very negative affect on them.

Largemouth tend to be pretty hardy, smallies and walleye are a little more prone to stress under these temperatures. I'm not an expert on this issue in any way. If you are only out for catch and release I would suggest releasing immediately. If your fishing any tourneys I would strongly suggest keeping some ice on hand and running your livewell on manual so fresh water is always coming in. Also, running an aerator would be very beneficial.

PMEmail Poster
ilyukha
Posted: Jul 04, 2018 - 01:36 pm

Parr Trout

Member No.: 12665

Good topic, thanks for posting. All good points.

It looks like we are having one of those hot summers this year and the heat wave will stick around for awhile.

I appreciate if anyone can recommend a good livewell aerator.

I normally release most of the fish, especially in summer but occasionally take a few home.

I am just putting the fish I plan to keep right into the cooler filled with ice but I am thinking if the livewell with aerator will be a better choice.

PMEmail Poster
Fossy47
Posted: Jul 04, 2018 - 03:59 pm

Adult Trout

Member No.: 9546

Great post sco1908. Thanks for highlighting we all need to be aware of the additional stress associated with very hot weather & very warm water.

Cheers,

PMEmail Poster
wildmar
Posted: Jul 05, 2018 - 08:09 am

Parr Trout

Member No.: 1882

87 Degrees! That is absolutely insane... this will definitely impact survival rates.

Sturgeon last week was 80.