Members |  Forum Rules |  Search
  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> March 10-11-12, Whitefish Beatdown
crawdad_79
Posted: Mar 13, 2018 - 08:48 am

Alevin

Group: Newbies
Member No.: 2923

A couple out-of-towners made it up for three days fishing, couldn't have asked for much more, weather wise and fish wise. I like to get up to beautiful Lake Simcoe once a year around this time. I was keeping an eye on the weather and ice reports for the last couple weeks, although access information was vague we made the trip hoping for the best.
I studied Navionics and we tried a new spot I had never accessed, a little bit nervous when we were the only vehicle there on a Saturday but with a little spud work we found the access to be perfect.
Made our way out at sunrise, the spot we were heading to was met by a good size pressure crack just before we got to it. With the strong north wind we decided to play it safe and fish the inside of it. We wet lines in 47 fow and within 20 min the first fish was topside
Attached Image

After that the flood gates opened and my buddy iced his very first whitefish!
Attached Image

We proceeded to catch our limit and release many more, some un-intentionally, we learned fairly quick to take your time at the hole Amazing first day, even a Burbot was dropped at the hole. Slowed down in the afternoon but still marked a fair number so we stuck it out, picking a few off here and there. A quick visit by the MNR and OPP and they were on there way, don't know how they found us, there wasn't another soul for miles ;D

We headed off the ice around 5 to get some grub and prep for day 2

Day 2 was here an hour earlier than it should have been, tired and sun-burnt we got off to a late start..
We decided on a different access in hopes to run into a Laker, it didn't happen. It was slower than day 1 but we got some more whitefish,
Attached Image

Attached Image