Fishing Forum  Fishing Regs  
 Members |  Forum Rules |  Search
Pages: 1 2   ( Go to first unread post ) Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Motor problems, DOH!
AlconaKevin
Posted: Aug 15, 2017 - 09:50 am

World Record Trout

Group: Members
Member No.: 1397

Was out yesterday and had my motor die almost totally die on my when up to full throttle for a few minutes. Starts great, idles great but when i give it gas now it does not give full power.
I have two tanks, so tried switching tanks with same results.

I am supposed to take it to a cottage next week so getting it in a looked at is gonna be near impossible by then.

Any suggestions i could try at home?

Motor:
1990 60HP Merc, 3 cyl.

It was running GREAT 2 weeks ago, with no issues at all. I keep in in my garage and it has been there since then.

PMEmail Poster
Sneaky Pete
Posted: Aug 15, 2017 - 10:41 am

Fry

Member No.: 2920

I'm no mechanic, but it sounds like not enough fuel is getting through your carburetor to support the higher RPMs. Considering your time constraints, I think YouTube could be your best source of information unless there's a backyard mechanic nearby. There are many videos there describing similar issues to yours. I hope you can get it sorted out before your trip.

PMEmail Poster
finsfurfeathers
Posted: Aug 15, 2017 - 12:51 pm

Trophy Trout

Member No.: 656

If its a four stroke check the oil level. Might be too high.

PMEmail Poster
keswickman
Posted: Aug 15, 2017 - 02:23 pm

Fry

Member No.: 3746

Hi 3 things come to mind. If oil injected low oil will reduce rpm to prevent damage, blocked water intake will overheat and cause reduced rpm for same reason, and lastly fuel line collapse or bulb failure reducing fuel flow. I've had all of the above. Fuel line was hardest to find with bad bulb valves restricting fuel flow. Good luck.

PMEmail Poster
sdcaller
Posted: Aug 15, 2017 - 02:34 pm

World Record Trout

Member No.: 67

Hey Kevin

Have you checked your fuel filter?