Members |  Forum Rules |  Search
  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Rod Holders & Dipsy Divers
mydogbites
Posted: Aug 21, 2018 - 07:49 pm

World Record Trout

Group: Members
Member No.: 414

Since I am new at downriggers and salmon fishing I would like some opinions on Scotty rod holders and using dipsies.

I own a 1650 Lund Rebel and have two slider Lund sportrack brackets attached on the rail that I use as a rod holder.
Question One. Are Scotty rod holders strong enough to hold a rod while trolling a Dipsy?
Question two. How do you hook on a Dipsy, tie it directly to line, use a snap swivel like I did, or? I have never used Dipsy Diver before so I'm hoping for some do's and don'ts with them. I have braid and I directly attached a snap swivel to the line to be able to hook on the Dipsy. Is this the correct way? or should I tie the dips directly?
I made up a couple of 6' cheater lines of floro with a snap swivel at each end to connect the dipsy and the spoon is this the correct way?
Looking forward to hearing from you that have expierience with dipsies. Thanks.

PMEmail Poster
porkpie
Posted: Aug 21, 2018 - 08:24 pm

Lunker Trout

Member No.: 4287

We talked about Scotties and dipsys in my boat the other day. Tekota.... Talora.... Bottom of Lake Ontario. Just glad it wasn't mine, but sure do feel for the friend that lost it. Scotty orcas maybe, but your standard Scotty may last quite a while and then bang gone. Your all good with the dipsys. Use the swivels, you want to be able to remove them. If you want to get stealthier you can run an 8-10 foot lead but you will have to hand bomb the fish the last few feet to the boat. Get Helga some gloves lol! 5-6 foot is an all around good length for leaders.

PMEmail Poster
Dinky
Posted: Aug 22, 2018 - 08:07 am

World Record Trout

Member No.: 212

Yes Robert, the above answer is great......had some old Scotty's and they were failing me.