Ľ Fishing Forum
  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Salmon Lake Ontario set up?
Mike Burke
Posted: Oct 08, 2018 - 02:52 pm

Egg

Group: Newbies
Member No.: 16388

Hey gang! Newbie here. Iím looking for some tips on gear and boat setup to fish salmon on the Canadian side. Just bought an old boat with no electronics or riggers. Just starting out so I donít want to break the bank. But I would like to catch a few fish with my 7 year old son next summer. Any tips or things to stay away from would be appreciated! Iím a bass guy but want to learn how to fish Lake Ontario itís 20 mins away from me!
Thanks everyone
Mike

Attached Image

PMEmail Poster
sdcaller
Posted: Oct 08, 2018 - 04:20 pm

World Record Trout

Group: Members
Member No.: 67

Nice looking boat.

In my mind, you will be half way there when you get a couple of good electric downriggers and a good sonar!

That way you know what depth the fish are at and you can get down to them. Use 10lb or 12lb cannonballs.

After that, the skies the limit on what you can spend on rods, reels and lures. I keep it pretty simple with the rods. I use 9ft Ugly Sticks. When I'm trolling with them, I use a couple of level wind reels and spinning reels when I'm casting.

I have lots of (read too many) salmon spoons, a couple of dipsey divers and a dozen flashers in different colors.

I fish when the wind and weather are favorable and I get enough fish using this approach, wether it is Lake O salmon, Lake Simcoe lakers or GB salmon/steelhead.

Don't forget a big landing net.

Read all you can about methods and gear and that will put you on the right track.

SDC

PMEmail Poster
Bayliner
Posted: Oct 08, 2018 - 06:26 pm

World Record Trout
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Member No.: 22

I'd be freshening up those registration numbers.

PMEmail Poster
Mike Burke
Posted: Oct 08, 2018 - 06:57 pm

Egg

Lol I hear that! Already off waiting on the new ones!

PMEmail Poster
Mike Burke
Posted: Oct 08, 2018 - 07:00 pm

Egg