Ľ Fishing Forum  Fishing Regs  
 Members |  Forum Rules |  Search
Pages: 1 2   ( Go to first unread post ) Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> New to Steelheading, Tips
Poopydoo
Posted: Oct 29, 2018 - 07:51 am

Egg

Group: Newbies
Member No.: 16419

Hi Everyone,

As stated in the title, i'm new to the world of fishing for steelhead or bows (or any trout for that matter). I just recently got into river fishing for salmon down here in the Burlington area and caught a few at the river mouths which was a lot of fun (photo of a buck i just caught yesterday while trying for trout- he's a bit late haha). I don't have a CP or even a 10+' rod because as i said i'm just starting out and using the gear i already own for the meantime. I frequently head up to the Collingwood area so this forum seamed to be the best place to gather knowledge and experience through reading all your posts. I'll be up in Collingwood this coming weekend and was just looking for some advice on general areas to focus my attention and what i should use.
Much appreciated guys!
Cheers

Attached Image

PMEmail Poster
1stdrift
Posted: Oct 29, 2018 - 10:52 am

Smolt Trout

Group: Members
Member No.: 9278

Areas I canít help you with Iím not familiar with that area at all...Iím always fishing lake O tribes...tips I can if you not using a CP make sure your line is not braided bc youll have a really tough time letting line out with a spinning reel. I seen a buddy try it this year it was terrible. Make sure you have leader line 4-8lb depending on how clear the water is. Small hooks 6-10. Small split shots under your float...small floats think they go from 4-11grms depending on creek or river your fishing I like the clear ones, forgot what there called. I like to use everything roe, beads, flies, worms.

PMEmail Poster
Poopydoo
Posted: Oct 29, 2018 - 11:40 am

Egg

Thank you 1stdrift!